LDT Laser Display Technology GmbH

Menu

Projection technology

LDT provides laser projectors, which are suitable for military flight simulators and planetariums special. They provide a realistic, interactive visualization for a variety of situations, day and night.

Due to their physical properties, laser projectors are the ideal choice for use in projection domes and applications involving other spherical surfaces. Flight simulation and planetarium sessions have one thing in common: they are both held in semi-spherical domes to make the projected images appear more vivid and convey to the pilot or the viewer the feeling that they are acting out or taking part in a real situation. This is achieved by synchronizing and blending a set of projected laser images and finally combining them into a homogeneous single image. The strong contrast, brilliant colors and unlimited depth of focus create the impression of a three-dimensional image. Laser projectors can be part of reflected-light and transmitted-light projection setups, as well as collimated display applications.

High static contrast
A very high contrast level is indispensable for projection setups.

Display ability of the lowest grey levels
Authentic reproduction of the lowermost gray levels can be of decisive importance, notably, when night or twilight scenarios need to be rendered.

Brilliant colors with maximal saturation
Working with discrete laser wavelengths makes it possible to show 66% of all colors which people can perceive providing about double the color space of a traditional projector.

Multi-channel applications
Some applications require several initial images to be composed to a single image.

Very small lens aperture as light emission point
Where necessary to adapt to special application environments, objective lenses with an outlet pupil in off-lens position can be included.

Motion system compatibility
For certain applications, the projection head can be mounted onto a specially designed motion platform.

Vision Systems for Simulators

Laser projectors employed for military flight simulation enable a given situation to be visualized much more realistically than in the past, thus raising the standard of pilot training programs to a superior level of quality. In applications like these, domes with a diameter from 9 to 13 meters are used as projection surfaces. Up to 14 projection channels may be required for a simulation session. The various image sizes and resolution levels corresponding to the 14 channels are matched to the pilot's individual attention zones. Through selection of different projection lenses the best possible resolution is obtained for each zone.

Application examples

By cooperation with our project partners a number of big projects have been and continue to be implemented in the field of military flight simulation. They include laser projectors working as an integral part of F-18, Tornado, MiG 29K and C-160 Transall simulators.

Planetarium Applications

Planetariums use laser projectors for dome sizes between 9 and 23 meters. Typically, such applications rely on 6 projection channels with identical projection lenses. As a viewer you can be immersed in fascinating astronomic worlds.

Application examples

Auch in Planetarien werden die Laserprojektoren der LDT Laser Display Technology GmbH weltweit eingesetzt. Einkanalige Projektoren sowie Ganzkuppelsysteme mit mehreren Bildkanälen wurden in den Planetarien Hamburg, Wien, Peking und Jena verwendet.

Virtual Reality Applications

Cylinder projections make up another field of application. To optimize the viewer's angle of vision, it is also possible to provide special projection screen shapes. A 360-degree projection typically requires 6 projection channels.

Application examples

The Virtual Development and Training Centre of the Fraunhofer Institute IFF in Magdeburg, Germany provides diverse development teams high-tech working environments for planning, testing and operation of technical systems with virtual technologies since 2006. Industrial environments are shown in a three-dimensional way with laser projection.

Virtual Development and Training Center in Magdeburg

Virtual models of complex machinery and plants can be displayed on a 360-degree projection surface with three-dimensional effect. This is made possible by mutual super-positioning of six laser images on a round projection surface. LDT Laser Display Technology GmbH has delivered the complete projection system of six laser sub-systems with objective lenses, projectors and related transmission and control facilities.

LDT Laser Display Technology GmbH

Projektionstechnologie

LDT liefert Laserprojektoren, die für militärische Flugsimulatoren und Planetarien besonders geeignet sind. Sie ermöglichen eine realistische, interaktive Darstellung für eine Vielzahl von Situationen bei Tag und Nacht.

Aufgrund ihrer physikalischen Eigenschaften ist der Einsatz von Laserprojektoren in Projektionskuppeln sowie auf andere sphärische Flächen optimal. Sowohl bei Anwendungen in Flugsimulatoren als auch in Planetarien werden halbkugelförmige Kuppeln benutzt um plastisch erscheinende Bilder zu projizieren und somit dem Betrachter bzw. dem Piloten das Gefühl zu vermitteln, inmitten einer realistischen Situation zu agieren. Dabei werden mehrere projizierte Laserbilder synchronisiert, ineinandergeblendet und zu einem homogenen Gesamtbild zusammengeführt. Der hohe Kontrast, die brillanten Farben sowie die unbegrenzte Tiefenschärfe lassen das Bild dreidimensional erscheinen. Laserprojektoren finden Anwendung in Auflichtprojektionen, Durchlichtprojektion und kollimierte Displays.

Wiedergabetreue der untersten Graustufen
Die Wiedergabetreue der untersten Graustufen ist insbesondere bei der Darstellung von Nacht- oder Dämmerungsszenen von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Brillante, maximal gesättigte Farben
Der Farbraum des Laserprojektors ist um ein Drittel größer als der von traditionellen Projektoren.

Mehrkanalfähigkeit
Je nach Größe der Projektionsoberfläche oder der geforderten Projektionshelligkeit können einzelne einkanalige beziehungsweise zweikanalige Laserprojektoren zu einem Laserprojektionssystem verbunden werden.

Sehr kleine Austrittsöffnung am Objektiv
Eine spezielle Austrittspupille vor dem Projektionsobjektiv ermöglicht Austrittsöffnungen des Projektionskopfes von wenigen Millimetern.

Robustheit des Projektionskopfes für Montage am Bewegungssystem
Der Projektionskopf kann besonderen dynamischen Belastungen ausgesetzt werden.

Durch den Einsatz von Laserprojektoren in der militärische Flugsimulation werden Situationen realistischer als bisher visualisiert und ermöglichen so ein Training der Piloten auf höchstem Niveau. Bei diesen Anwendungen werden Dome als Projektionsflächen eingesetzt, deren Durchmesserbereich zwischen 9 bis 13 Meter liegt. Dafür werden sechs bis 14 Projektionskanäle benötigt wobei die einzelnen Bildgrößen und damit die entsprechenden Auflösungen den Aufmerksamkeitsbereichen der Piloten angepasst sind. Durch die Verwendung unterschiedlicher Projektionsobjektive wird für jeden Bereich die optimale Auflösung realisiert.

ANWENDUNGSBEISPIELE

In Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Projektpartnern wurden und werden mehrere große Projekte im Bereich der militärischen Flugsimulation realisiert. Dazu gehören der Einsatz von Laserprojektoren an folgenden Simulatoren: F-18, Tornado, MiG 29K und C-160 Transall.

ANWENDUNGEN IN PLANETARIEN

In  Planetarien werden Laserprojektoren für Kuppelgrößen zwischen 9 und 23 Meter eingesetzt. Hier werden typischerweise 6 Projektionskanäle mit gleichen Projektionsobjektiven verwendet. Als Betrachter tauchen Sie in faszinierende astronomische Welten ein.

ANWENDUNGSBEISPIELE

Auch in Planetarien werden die Laserprojektoren der LDT Laser Display Technology GmbH weltweit eingesetzt. Einkanalige Projektoren sowie Ganzkuppelsysteme mit mehreren Bildkanälen wurden in den Planetarien Hamburg, Wien, Peking und Jena verwendet.

Weltweit sind derzeit über 150 Projektionskanäle erfolgreich in verschiedenen Applikationen der Simulation, in Planetarien und im Bereich Virtual Reality im Einsatz.

APPLIKATIONEN IM VIRTUAL REALITY BEREICH

Ein weiteres Anwendungsgebiet ist die Zylinderprojektion. Zur Optimierung der Sehwinkel der Betrachter ist es dort auch möglich, Sonderformen der Projektionsfläche zu realisieren. Für eine 360° Projektion benötigt man typisch 6 Projektionskanäle.

ANWENDUNGSBEISPIELE

Seit 2006 bietet das Virtual Development and Training Centre des Fraunhofer- Instituts für Fabrikbetrieb und -automatisierung IFF in Magdeburg unter anderem verschiedenen Entwicklungsteams High-Tech-Arbeitsplätze zum Planen, Testen und Betreiben technischer Systeme mit virtuellen Technologien. Mittels einer 360° Laserprojektion werden industrielle Umgebungen dreidimensional dargestellt.

VIRTUAL DEVELOPMENT AND TRAINING CENTER IN MAGDEBURG

Auf einer 360-Grad-Projektionsfläche werden virtuelle Modelle komplexer Maschinen und Anlagen mit dreidimensionalen Effekt dargestellt. Dies wird durch  sechs ineinander gespielte Laserbilder auf einer runden Projektionsfläche ermöglicht Jenoptik lieferte das gesamte Projektionssystem, das aus sechs Lasersystemen inklusive der Objektive, Projektoren sowie der zugehörigen Übertragungs- und Steuerungstechnik besteht.